top of page

Turning Practicality into Business: How Shannon Keher Quit Her 9 to 5 and Launched "Hidey Style"


 

If one thing is true, it’s that women are persons of practicality. From planning out their children’s school lunches for the week to creating an itinerary for the long anniversary weekend that was planned last year. Women just want things made easier for them-fashion, included! With male designers still dominating the fashion scene, there is still a lack of knowledge about what women want. You will never see a woman who isn’t excited that she found a supportive bra at Victoria’s Secret or a woman who doesn’t announce to the world that her dress has pockets! For Shannon Kehrer, it was a sock that didn’t slip.

It was a practical idea turned money-maker. So practical that not even her sister realized that she needed it! With no knowledge of starting up a business, Kehrer took a leap of faith. Through research and saving up, she started Hidey Style and made a profit.

From working with the everyday businesswoman to designing supportive socks for cheer teams, Hidey Socks has seen its way through many walks of life-literally.


 

TLA: What was the thought behind Hidey Socks?

SK: I was fed up with the no-show socks slipping off my feet so I designed Hidey Socks with an anklet to ensure the sock would stay in place. I added Swarovski crystals to the ankle strap to add style.

TLA: Who was the first person that you told your idea to? What was their reaction?

SK: My sister. She thought it was a great idea [and] needed Hidey Socks too.

TLA: Did you have a good idea of how to start a business?

SK: No idea! I was only 19 years old at the time so I didn’t have a lot of experience or money but I saved up & googled what I needed to do.

TLA: What does your work schedule look like?

SK: Some days I’m up at 5 am [and] working until 7 pm [and] some days I’m up at 7 am working until 6 pm. Depends on what needs to get done that day.


TLA: How was it going from Corporate America to being your own boss?

SK: Lots of discipline was needed. Now that I work from home[,] I need to have clear boundaries [and] deadlines for myself. It’s honestly been amazing though [and] I’m proud I made that jump.

TLA: What are some stigmas that you had to hurdle?

SK: One of the biggest hurdle[s] I had was my age. I feel I had to work harder to gain people['s] trust [and] respect since I was so young. Thankfully, I have the gift of gab so that helped a ton.

TLA: What has been your biggest win?

SK: My biggest win has been selling to 48 states [and] going international last year. That shows that the word of Hidey Socks is getting out into the world [and] I couldn’t be more proud.

TLA: What has been your biggest failure?

SK: I had a chance to get on Good Morning America but because I didn’t have enough stock ready, I lost the deal. I cried, was upset for a bit then dusted myself off [and] realized I needed to place a larger order with my factory in order to make Good Morning America happen so that’s exactly what I did.

TLA: What have you recently implemented into your business plan that you feel has changed your business in a big way?

SK: Hiring sales reps has allowed the word to spread quicker about Hidey Socks. I highly recommend it.

TLA: Did you ever see yourself in such a career as yours?

SK: No. I never thought I would be in the fashion industry but here I am & I love it!


TLA: Where do you see yourself and your business in the next five years?

SK: In the next [five] years, I see myself working just as hard as I am now building this dream. I see my business as thriving with having been on Shark Tank, Good Morning America & other stations. We have come out with other products as well.

TLA: What are some words of advice that you wish you heard when you started Hidey Style?

SK: It’s OKAY to be in business debt. Most businesses have to go in debt in order to bring something to life.

TLA: How can we find you?

info@HideyStyle.com


Get 20% off your Hidey Style order by using the code: ARTICLE



Written by: April Reed

Photography by: April Reed

This article is in collaboration with Amy Janelle Media. Catch the up-and-coming podcast "Dead Air" coming to a platform near you.












bottom of page